Successive approximations to Antigone, lines 801-816

IMG_NEW1

IMG1_NEW

From:  Sophocles Antigone, ed Mark Griffith, CUP 1999

1.  Without referring to anything

CHORUS Now already I bear myself
Out of the laws, having seen these things, I cannot
Hold back any longer the springs of tears,
Because I see the general marriage-chamber
This Antigone finishing.

ANTIGONE You see me, oh citizens of the fatherland,
Going the new way,
Seeing the new light of the sun,
And never again; but the general Hades
Is taking me alive to the bank of
Acheron, and I have not obtained
Bridal songs, nor will has in any way
A bridal song sounded at my wedding,
But I will marry at Acheron.

2.  After consulting LSJ and the notes at the back

CH Even I myself am being swept
Out of the proper bounds, having seen these things, I cannot
Hold back any longer the springs of tears,
Because I see the general marriage-chamber
This Antigone making her way to it.

AN You see me, oh citizens of the fatherland,
Going the last way,
Seeing the last light of the sun,
And never again; but the Hades who puts all to bed
Is taking me alive to the bank of
Acheron, and I have not any share of
Bridal songs, nor will has in any way
A bridal song sounded at my wedding,
But I will marry at Acheron.

3. After comparison with Lloyd-Jones’s Loeb

CH Even I myself am being swept
Out of the proper bounds, having seen these things, I cannot
Hold back any longer the springs of tears,
Because I see the general marriage-chamber
This Antigone making her way to it.

AN See me, oh citizens of the fatherland,
Going the last way,
Seeing the last light of the sun,
And never again; but the Hades who puts all to bed
Is taking me alive to the bank of
Acheron, and I have not any share of
Bridal songs, nor will has in any way
A bridal song sounded at my wedding,
But I will be the bride of Acheron.

4.  After pre-class revisions

CH  Even I myself am being swept
Out of the proper bounds, having seen these things, I cannot
Hold back any longer the springs of tears,
Because I see the marriage-chamber where all must lie
This Antigone making her way to it.

AN See me, oh citizens of the fatherland,
Going the last way,
Seeing the last light of the sun,
And never again; but the Hades who puts all to bed
Is taking me alive to the bank of
Acheron, and I have not any share of
Processional songs, nor has in any way
A bridal song sounded at my wedding,
But I will be the bride of Acheron.

5.  After class

CH Even I myself am being swept
Out of the proper bounds, having seen these things, I cannot
Hold back any longer the springs of tears,
Because I see the marriage-chamber where all must lie
This Antigone making her way to it.

AN See me, oh citizens of the fatherland,
Going the last way,
Glimpsing the last light of the sun,
And never again; but the Hades who puts all to bed
Is taking me alive to the bank of
Acheron, and I have not any share of
Processional songs, nor has in any way
A bridal song celebrated me at my wedding,
But I will be the bride of Acheron.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

