‘I am persecuted by verbs…’ (Natalya Gorbanevskaya)

I am persecuted by verbs,
they are so insubstantial and bare:
both at heels and by my side
they seize me, grab me by the elbow,
to bang the doors behind me as I go
and to rise up into the skies.

They hurry, get in each other’s way
and in consoling themselves they say
to one another, ‘Listen, we will have repose
I know that I will get dark from hot weather
we need to keep up with her, whatever,
even walking elbow to elbow as she goes.’

I take pity and, losing heart,
let the poor ones go their way apart:
‘Bind me, conjugate me…’
And, tightening my belt-buckle,
I harness myself to the accustomed couple–
the dark makes my head show clearly.

Меня преследуют глаголы,
несуществительны и голы,
и по пятам, и по бокам,
хватают, цапают за локоть,
за мной, за мной дверями хлопать
и возноситься к облакам.

И поспешают, и мешают
самим себе, и утешают
друг дружку: “Слушай, отдохнем.
От зноя, знаю я, стемнею,
куда угнаться нам за нею,
хоть локоть к локтю с ней идем”.

И сжалюсь я, и отпускаю
бедняг, и руки опускаю:
“Вяжите, сопрягайте мя”.
И, подтянув на брюхе пряжку,
впрягусь в знакомую упряжку,
лишь темя темью оттеня.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

