‘The blackthorn sticks its thorns into me…’ (Vladimir Salimon)

The blackthorn sticks its thorns into me
but I will never become Saint Sebastian
above the masses’ base vulgarity
I will not rise as a splendid bastion.

A baggage waggon will pour over me
from head to foot a marshful of mud.
My friend, elbowing my ribs, will not see
how painful it is, when he should.

The same as everyone, from year to year
I undergo irreparable harm
I smoke and drown my sorrows in beer,
consume food additives without a qualm.

 

Терновый куст вонзит в меня шипы,
но Севастьян не станет Себастьяном,
над пошлостью и низостью толпы
не поднимусь прекрасным великаном.

Меня окатит с головы до ног
болотной жижей фура грузовая.
Меня толкнет локтем приятель в бок,
как это больно, не подозревая.

Из года в год со всеми наравне
несу невосполнимые утраты —
курю табак, тоску топлю в вине,
употребляю в пищу химикаты.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

