Vsevolod Emelin

Всеволод Емелин

Уж не придёт весна, я знаю.
Навеки осень надо мной.
И даже улица родная
Совсем мне стала не родной.

Среди моих пятиэтажек,
Где я прожил недолгий век,
Стоят мудилы в камуфляже
И сторожат какой-то Bank.

Как поздней осенью поганки
Мелькают шляпками в траве,
Повырастали эти банки
По затаившейся Москве.

Сбылися планы Тель-Авива.
Мы пережили тяжкий шок.
И где была палатка “Пиво”,
Там вырос магазин “Night Shop”.

И пусть теснятся на витрине
Различных водок до фига,
Мне водка в этом магазине
В любое время дорога.

Смотрю в блестящие витрины
На этикетки, ярлычки.
Сильнее, чем от атропина,
Мои расширены зрачки.

Глаза б мои на вас ослепли,
Обида скулы мне свела,
Зато стучат в соседней церкви,
Как по башке, в колокола.

И я спрошу тебя, Спаситель,
Висящий в храме на стене:
“По ком вы в колокол звоните?
Звоните в колокол по мне!”

По мне невеста не заплачет,
Пора кончать эту фигню.
так или иначе,Не знаю
Но скоро адрес я сменю.

Зарежут пьяные подростки,
Иммунодефицит заест,
И здесь на этом перекрёстке
Задавит белый мерседес.

На окровавленном асфальте
Размажусь я, красив и юн,
Но вы меня не отпевайте,
Не тычьте свечки на канун.

Без сожаленья, без усилья,
Не взяв за это ни рубля,
Меня своей епитрахилью
Накроет мать сыра земля.

Кончаю так – идите в жопу,
Владейте улицей моей,
Пооткрывайте здесь найт-шопов,
Секс-шопов, банков и церквей.

Vsevolod Emelin (b. 1959)

I know that spring will never come
It’s forever autumn over me
And even the street where I was born
Is not mine, like it used to be.

Amongst my five-storey low-rises
Where I lived my time–not too much–
Stand idiots in camouflage trousers
And guard some new Bank branch, or such

As late in the autumn throughout
Caps of toadstools appear in the green
There banks  began to sprout
In a Moscow that was best left unseen

Our plans for Tel Aviv came through
We lived through a terible shock
And where they sold beer in a booth
They’ve built what they call a Night Shop.

And different vodkas can fight for space
In the shop window, or form a tower
For me the vodka in that bloody place
Is too fucking dear at any hour.

I look in the dazzling window displays
At the labels and tags to be seen
And then my pupils more widely dilate
Than they would from your bloody atropine.

You could have made my eyes go blind
And anger’s pursed my lips as well
But then there’s a noise in the church nearby
And like in my head, they’re ringing a bell.

And I will ask you, oh my Lord
Who hangs in the church on a wall
‘Who is it they ring the bell for?
They should ring it for me, is all.’

My bride will never weep for me
It’s time to make an end of that mess
I don’t know how–however may be
But I’ll soon be changing address.

Youths will stab me with no compunction
And I’ll be eaten up with HIV
And here at this very junction
A white Mercedes will do for me.

All over the bloodied road’s surface
I’ll be spread out, so fine and so new
But don’t go and hold any service
I want no mourning candles from you.

Without pity, and with total control
Not taking any money or its worth
I’ll be covered by the damp stole
Of our general mother, the earth.

I’ll finish this way–fuck off
And take over my street with your purchase
Here you can open your night shops
Your sex shops, banks, and your churches.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

