St Paul’s Sinfonia St Paul’s Deptford 16 October

***

I arrived a minute or so past 7.30 since I’d spent some time searching for something secure-looking to lock my bike to.  There were no programmes left and I occupied my normal place at the front.  The orchestra launched into Leonore No. 3 with commendable energy (also one rather wild entry from the French horns).  The man sitting next to me kindly passed me his programme, and I saw that I was down as a Friend–surely that was last year, if not the year before?

Second up was the Sibelius Violin Concerto with a real Finnish soloist in Frida Backman.  And she had provided a programme note on the piece including an interesting piece of Finnish information:  [The first movement] concludes with a lot of ‘sisu’–a type of idiomatic Finnish mental and emotional state in which one takes on any challenge regardless of the odds .

During the interval I went down to the crypt where there was friendly coffee on a pay-what-you-feel-like basis, as well as checking that my bike was still there.

So finally we had Dvorak’s Ninth Symphony, again played with commendable vigour (perhaps the big tune from the cor anglais in the Largo could have been a bit more legato), and I was quite carried away as the end approached…

Definitely worth a try if you’re in the area!  The next concert is on 20 November, details on their website.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

